Contact Us
Meetings and Definitions
2016 Proclamations from California Cities
Articles of Interest - See Facebook
Resources for Bullied Targets
Order a Bullying Breaks Hearts Tee Shirt
Personal Stories
What it's like to be Bullied at Work
Under Seige
Workplace Mobbing
2015 Freedom from Workplace Bullies Week PROCLAMATIONS
2015 Articles of Interest
2015 National Progress on Healthy Workplace Bill
2014 Freedom From Workplace Bullying Week Proclamations
2014 Zogby Poll Results Released
2014 Links & Articles of Interest
In Fond Memory of a California Healthy Workplace Advocate 7/16/14
94 California Cities, Counties, and the California Senate Proclaim Freedom from Workplace Bullies 2013
Recapping National Freedom from Workplace Bullies Week 2012
59 California Cities Proclaim Freedom from Workplace Bullies 2012
Book for Employers
Healthy Workplace Legislative Bill History
Bullying Tactics and Consequences
Existing Law and its Shortcomings
Example of Protected Class
National Progress
The U.S. Campaign for Workplace Bullying Laws
Archived Articles Relevant to Workplace Bullying...2006-2010...
People have been talking
Healthy Workplace Bill
The High Cost of Bullying
Job Killer Myths
The Search is on... Find a Legislator
Contact Your Legislators
Peralta Community College District, Oakland
City of Berkeley, Commission on Labor
City of San Francisco Resolution
Level Playing Field
 "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." Margaret Mead

Our definition of Workplace Bullying: Repeated, health harming mistreatment that interferes with the flow of work.

Healthy Workplace Advocates 
Mission Statement
The Mission of California Healthy Workplace Advocates
Is to Raise Public Awareness and Compel our State to Correct and
Prevent Abusive Work Environment Through Legislation
.......Next Meeting Date
Saturday, June 24th, 2017
(Last Saturday of the month) 
3pm to 6pm  
Denny's Restaurant
Highway 50 and Howe Ave.
(North side of Freeway toward Sac State University)
7900 College Town Drive
Sacramento, CA 

(916) 383-7071 
"Perceptions of organizational justice impact productivity and individual well-being. 
Careers, livelihoods, and paychecks are at stake, not to mention personal health and dignity." David Yamada, J.D.  


In 2014, California passed AB 2053 which included the following language, now codified into law: 

"For purposes of this section, "abusive conduct" means conduct of an employer or employee in the workplace, with malice, that a reasonable person would find hostile, offensive, and unrelated to an employer's legitimate business interests. Abusive conduct may include repeated infliction of verbal abuse, such as the use of derogatory remarks, insults, and epithets, verbal or physical conduct that a reasonable person would find threatening, intimidating, or humiliating, or the gratuitous sabotage or undermining of a person's work performance. A single act shall not constitute abusive conduct, unless especially severe or egregious."  

This means there could be legal recourse using this language, although it has not yet been tested in the court, YET being the key word!

To read current articles on workplace bullying, click here for our facebook page

Click here to see & hear Dr. Gary Namie of the Workplace Bullying Institute share his thoughts on Freedom From Workplace Bullies Week

SEE "Bullying And The Law", Carrie Clark Gives Report at SF UPWA Meeting on YouTube 10-2012

Listen to audio by Dr. Gary Namie. And please remember that targets did not invite the misery of workplace bullying upon themselves. No rational person would. May 2011 CLICK HERE

Listen to Healthy Workplace Advocate Michelle Smith speak about Workplace Bullying on KVPR Valley Public Radio February 2011. CLICK HERE

Watch Healthy Workplace Advocate, Carrie Clark, being interviewed for a short, BNET video, "Calling a Bully a Bully", CLICK HERE

We are here because Bullying Breaks Hearts...
Occupational stress severely increases the risk of coronary heart disease, high blood pressure, anxiety, and post traumatic stress disorder. These are just a few of the many possible physical consequences of workplace bullying.


Workers injured by work abuse often suffer from Post-traumatic Stress Disorder as a result of long-term psychological violence committed against them. 

Presently, to our national shame, the United States and the State of California have no laws prohibiting status-blind harassment in the workforce.  It is perfectly legal to harass an employee or co-worker until the job becomes unbearable and the workers are disabled.